Callaghan Society

William Callaghan was a successful apothecary in Dublin when he and his wife took in an orphaned young woman named Catherine McAuley.

Catherine began to minister to the sick and needy in their community, and when Mr. Callaghan later fell ill, he left Catherine his estate.

With this inheritance, Catherine built the first House of Mercy to care for women and children and later founded the Sisters of Mercy in 1831. Her legacy is the mission of Mercy that is still alive today.

Join Us!

When you include a gift to Mercy Health Foundation in your will or estate plan, we welcome you as a member of the Callaghan Society. This special group of supporters shares your vision of excellence in health care for their community.

Along with the benefit of knowing your gift will help secure Mercy's long-term financial stability, you will also receive:

  • Regular email updates on estate tax changes
  • Invitations to special Mercy Health Foundation events
Contact Us
14528 S. Outer Forty Suite 100
Chesterfield, MO 63017
Telephone: 314-628-5736